Ballwin Blog

Mar 15, 2019

City County Merger Information

Ballwin has received a number of calls and emails from residents pertaining to the discussion about a merger in the region. Your local government will never be in the business of telling you how to vote on any issue, but we have received a lot of questions about where your local representatives stand on this issue. Below is a summary of the legislative action that has been taken in the last few years by Ballwin’s elected officials. We encourage you to contact your municipal, county, and state representatives in this process to express your opinions. In 2014, Ballwin’s Mayor and Board of Aldermen passed a resolution opposing unification of St. Louis County. It states, in part, that the Mayor and Board of Aldermen of the City of Ballwin will work towards the betterment of the St. Louis region, but will oppose any efforts that would lower the quality and raise the costs of services received by Ballwin citizens. In 2017, Ballwin’s Mayor and Board of Aldermen passed a resolution urging the St. Louis County Council and St. Louis Board of Aldermen to oppose any and all legislation authorizing a statewide vote regarding or mandating a change in the government structure of St. Louis City and St. Louis County and the municipalities therein. In 2018, Ballwin officials went on record in Jefferson City in support of HCR #97 which denounces submitting a constitutional amendment to all voters in the state regarding whether to consolidate St. Louis City and St. Louis County. In February 2019, Ballwin’s Mayor and Board of Aldermen passed a resolution supporting the formation of a Board of Freeholders/Electors as authorized by Article VI; Section 30(a) and 30(b) of the Missouri constitution and reaffirming their opposition to a unification of St. Louis County and the City of St. Louis which would eliminate local government and result in the reduction of services provided to Ballwin’s residents.   Ballwin, MO The Ballwin Board of Aldermen has unanimously gone on record in opposition to the Better Together proposals while endorsing a freeholder plan to study these issues and implement change, if appropriate, at the local level. The proposed merger of St. Louis County with the City of St. Louis, coupled with the creation of a “metro city” can and will have major consequences for residents of the City of Ballwin. If you have questions, contact Mayor Tim Pogue or your Aldermen. Ballwin Elected Officials Mayor Tim Pogue tpogue@ballwin.mo.us Alderman Mike Utt (Ward 1)  mutt@ballwin.mo.us Alderman Michael Finley (Ward 1)  mfinley@ballwin.mo.us Alderman Mark Stallmann (Ward 2) mstallmann@ballwin.mo.us Alderman Kevin M. Roach (Ward 2)  kroach@ballwin.mo.us Alderman Frank Fleming (Ward 3) ffleming@ballwin.mo.us Alderman Jim Leahy (Ward 3) jleahy@ballwin.mo.us Alderman Ross Bullington (Ward 4) rbullington@ballwin.mo.us Alderman Ray Kerlagon (Ward 4) rkerlagon@ballwin.mo.us   St. Louis County Municipal League Pat Kelly - Executive Director (314) 726-4747 staff@stlmuni.org If you have comments or concerns, express your opinion with a letter to the editor to the West County Journal or the Post Dispatch. You could also reach out to any one of the following. Elected Officials: Dr. Sam Page - Interim County Executive (314) 615-5437 spage@stlouisco.com Mark Harder - County Councilman (314) 615-5443 mharder@stlouisco.com Tim Fitch – County Councilman (314) 615-5438 tfitch@stlouisco.com Andrew Koenig - State Senator (573) 751-5568 andrew.koenig@senate.mo.gov Jill Schupp - State Senator (573) 751-9762 jill.schupp@senate.mo.gov Dave Schatz - State Senator (573) 751-3678 dave.schatz@senate.mo.gov Shamed Dogan - State Rep (573) 751-4392 shamed.dogan@house.mo.gov Derek Grier - State Rep (573) 751-9765 derek.grier@house.mo.gov Bruce DeGroot - State Rep (573) 751-1247 bruce.degroot@house.mo.gov Ann Wagner - US Congresswoman (636) 779-5449 wagner@house.gov Related Documents Better Together Proposal
Read More
Feb 19, 2019

February 2019 Newsletter

#1 WE'RE MOVING Effective April 1, 2019 Ballwin's City Hall will have a new address. Located just down the hill from where we are currently located in Vlasis Park, our mailing address will be 77 Seven Trail Drive. Our new building will include a board/court room so all future Board of Aldermen meetings as well as court hearings will be held at this location instead of at the police department beginning in April. All are welcome to join us for a tour of the new building and a dedication ceremony on Monday, April 8 beginning at 9 a.m.     #2 Welcome Officer Mark Reckert On Monday, we swore in the newest addition to the Ballwin Police Department. Officer Mark Reckert comes to Ballwin after serving the past two years with the Ferguson Police Department. He also has prior experience working for St. Louis County. Mark and his wife, Kaitlyn, are expecting their first child in May. Please join us in welcoming Mark!     #3 City-County Merger Recently, at city hall we've received a lot of questions from residents about where their elected officials stand on the city-county merger issue. Ballwin's Board of Aldermen has been involved in the discussion for quite some time, so we've gone back through previous board meeting minutes for you and summarized all the legislative action they've taken on the topic. You can read the summary on our website if the topic interests you.   #4 Leaf Collection The third and final round of leaf collection is underway and is about half way complete. You can continue to monitor our crews' process on our website.   #5 Holiday Hours at City Hall As a reminder, Ballwin administrative offices will be closed today, Monday, February 18 in observation of President's Day. Our 24 hour drop box remains accessible for court payments in our lobby at 14811 Manchester Road Ballwin, MO. View the full newsletter online or sign up to receive them in your inbox in the future.  
Read More
Dec 20, 2018

December 2018 Newsletter

Read an update about leaf collection, Ramsey bridge, the municipal election, development and holiday hours. 
Read More
Nov 29, 2018

November 2018 Newsletter #2

Small Business Saturday winner announced, news about the city administrator, open houses this week, committee openings, and a reminder from Ballwin's municipal court are included in this edition of the bi-monthly Ballwin e-newsletter. 
Read More
Nov 8, 2018

November 2018 Newsletter #1

Comprehensive Planning update, the return of Ballwin's street banners on Manchester Road, America Recycles Day, and more in this edition of Ballwin's e-newsletter. 
Read More
Oct 26, 2018

October 2018 Newsletter #2

Today Ballwin shares the latest Ballwin Life magazine, announces a new aquatics manager, tells about Community Development Block Grants, explains a new evidence tracking system and shares a video of a house demolition on Old Ballwin Road. 
Read More
Sep 26, 2018

October 2018 Newsletter #1

Read about road work, a new police officer, Ballwin's new arborist, a visual preference survey and the newest podcast episode. 
Read More
Sep 20, 2018

September 2018 Newsletter #2

In the second enewsletter of September you'll read about a delay in the Ries Road bridge project, annexation, the visual preference survey, a parks master plan open house, and Ballwin PD's Risky Behavior's seminar. 
Read More
Sep 5, 2018

September 2018 Newsletter #1

In the first newsletter of September you'll read about a new business coming to Ballwin, pool draining tips from MSD, an interview with Ballwin Aldermen, a reminder to lock your cars, and an update on the Ries Road bridge project. 
Read More